Focus On Home, Make It Your Perfect Place To Live

 

2 PEOPLE  JUST THEIR   HANDES WITH 2 CUPS OF COFFEE SITTING BY A FIREPLACE 03 2016

 With time flying by like I’ve never felt, it is easy to lose focus on what is most important. Nowhere did this become more obvious than when I was on vacation recently. As I walked around a beautiful resort, I noticed that 80%+ of the people had their faces buried in their phones. They weren’t enjoying time with their families and friends, or taking in the scenery. I’m not trying to judge, because I have plenty of room for improvement.

But it got me thinking about mindfulness and being present. I know I can be better about it whether I’m at home, work, or on vacation. Since I have been back, I have really been working hard on being present at home. And that doesn’t just mean paying more attention to my husband and dogs. It also means focusing on creating a wonderful, peaceful space to enjoy every day.

color-made-easy.jpg

Here’s how I’m focusing on home:

  1. Daily Chores – Have you ever seen the daily chore lists on Pinterest or anywhere else online? Before you call me crazy, hear me out. After working all day and making an endless amount of decisions, the last thing I want to do is come home to a dirty house and not know where to start. These lists help me focus on one task a day, and help me keep the overwhelm to a minimum.
  2. Edit Possessions – If you’ve read any of my posts before, you know I love to de-clutter. I have no problem parting with “stuff” much to the dismay of my husband. By keeping only what is useful, functional, and important we have cleared physical and mental space.
  3. Plan Meals – Every Sunday I make a meal plan for the week. Not only does it help by removing one more decision at the end of the day, but it has saved time and money on groceries. By planning the meals ahead of time, I can write up my complete list for the week, do one big shopping trip, and only get what we’ll need and use.
  4. Keep It Simple – I used to think I needed to have layers of things and decorations to make my house feel like home. Over the years I’ve realized that we really live and love having a simple life, and that is reflected in our style at home.
  5. Embrace Time – I am embracing every minute that I spend with people that I love or doing something that I enjoy. No more FOMO. In our constantly connected world, we see people everywhere doing amazing things … without us. That’s ok. I’m ok being home. And I don’t feel like I’m missing out. My life is pretty fantastic just as it is. And so is yours.
  6. Lifestyle Matters – In everything I do, I consider the impact on my lifestyle. Here’s how to do it. Do you enjoy being debt-free? Don’t make that extravagant purchase. Do you currently rent but want to buy a home? Make decisions that are in line with your goal of home ownership. Do you want to downsize? Start making choices that will lessen the impact of moving in the future.

You don’t have to wait until tomorrow to make the mental switch to focus on your home. And give yourself grace when you get off track. Each day is an opportunity to begin again. How will you embrace it?

FIND OUT HOW TO PAY
FOR YOUR REMODEL

http://blog.cbbain.com/blog/focus-on-home-make-it-your-perfect-place-to-live

Leave a Reply

