Home Is Where My Dog Is

 

MINNIE AND BANDIT  FROM  2000

I think we can all agree that home is where you build your life. It’s where the magic happens, and where you can truly be yourself. For me and many others, home is also where your dog is. This has been true for me for over 12 years, and I can’t imagine my life any differently.

Growing up we had “different” pets… a parrot that only liked my dad, koi in our pond, an outdoor cat that was quite antisocial, and bunnies (oddly enough they were allowed in the house sometimes). Needless to say, I wasn’t that into pets when I moved into my own place.

invest

That all changed when I got my first dog nearly 13 years ago, and again when I got my second dog 11 years ago. My heart cracked wide open. And I finally saw what others have known forever… a dog will change your life for the better. It will be richer, fuller, more fun, and sometimes more challenging.

Yes, there will be hair on the furniture and maybe even in your food. Yes, there will be nose prints on the windows. Yes, there will be times when you don’t want to get up but the dog wants a walk. But it will all be worth it. Every single moment.

Next time I move I will look for a great yard with a sunny spot for afternoon naps, the perfect spot for dog dishes, and probably less carpet. And when I go to sell my home, I will make sure potential buyers can see that it’s a wonderful place to raise a dog… even though I will keep the toys, bed, and dishes out of sight.

Coldwell Banker has partnered with Adopt-A-Pet on the Homes for Dogs project to help partner people with dogs for forever homes. Not only does this thrill me because I believe in adopting rescue dogs; but it makes me proud to know that we are making a difference in the lives of people and dogs alike. A house comes alive when you have a dog!

NOW IS THE TIME
TO SELL YOUR HOME

Leave a Reply

